Tips & Tricks

How I reset after a weekend “off”

We’ve all been there. You have a long weekend at restaurants/bars and events around town. You don’t get quality sleep, you aren’t eating quality food, and you’ve had [a little] too much alcohol. By Sunday afternoon you feel awful and don’t even want to think about getting on the scale. What do you do?

 

If you follow me on twitter, you have probably observed that when this happen, I like to take Monday to “shock” my body. When I say “shock”, I mean give it the nutrition, fluid, and physical activity it’s been begging for over the last two and a half days. I set a few goals:

  1. Eat at least 5 servings of fruits and veggies
  2. Drink at least 8 ounces of fluid (water or unsweetened tea)
  3. Exercise for 45 minutes – 1 hour

Pretty simple goals. In fact, the “goals” are just recommendations for all Americans, every day. But when you feel awful, sometimes these achievable goals are what you need. To keep myself accountable I’ll either keep a journal of my food/drink intake or post them on twitter (nothing keeps you accountable quite like the internet).

1

 

Again, I don’t eat or drink anything specific. I just try to meet those simple goals. Check out my last “reset day” for an example:

2Avocado toast has been one of my most recent breakfast obsessions, primarily because it’s so easy to make. I cut an avocado in half and smash 1 half with a fork while the bread is in the toaster. When it comes out I just smear the avocado on the toast and start nomming. I leave water on my desk all day at work and sip on it whenever I’m thirsty.

3I’m pretty lucky because my work makes delicious meals with LOTS of veggies. I estimated 2 servings for this sweet potato casserole, but after looking at the recipe I found that the meal has 1/2 pound of sweet potatoes, 1/4 pound of green beans, a little onion, and tomatoes. I’m changing my count to 3 servings :).

4I had a Lipton green tea while I was working a tasting event for work and finished it at home. My Great Dane (Bailey) loves playing with empty bottles! She stared me down until I recycled it.

5By the time I got home from the gym I was so hungry that I totally forgot about the whole “accountability” thing :). I had 2 Cuties after my workout.

When I’m at the gym I like to do at least 30 minutes of cardio and 20 minutes of strength training. I always finish a 16 oz water bottle while I’m there, but that didn’t make it to my twitter feed. On Mondays, my gym has a “Muscle Works” class that helps me get back into the groove of being active. I like to run 2 miles before the class, go to muscle works for 50 minutes, and run 1 mile after. In my opinion, a good sweat session is the best way to get your body back to normal.

6After the gym and before dinner I gulp down a glass of water.

7I ended this particular day with a salad. I don’t typically like salads, but I had this GREAT salad from Panera and made a copy-cat version. This one has kale, quinoa, beets, pecans, red onion, feta, and Italian dressing. Yum!!

 

 

Do you have any other tricks for getting back on track after a long weekend? Leave them in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

