Tips & Tricks

What does a registered dietitian eat?

When people find out I am a registered dietitian they always ask me one of three things:

  1. Can you help me eat better?
  2. So you eat healthy all the time, right?
  3. Are you judging me for eating this?

In case you were wondering, the answers to those questions are yes, usually, and not at all.

Full disclosure: I don’t have a “perfect” diet. I have a busy work schedule and an active social life. Like many people, I try to make smart food choices while also enjoying delicious meals. Some days look better than others. I occasionally stray away from nutrition guidelines but am mindful of how frequently that happens. Today, I am going to show you what the diet of a dietitian looks like.

Remember, your diet does NOT need to look like this. Everyone’s body requires different amounts and types of food. I am a petite, active female in my mid-twenties with no food allergies. I typically eat around 1,800 calories a day.

When I wake up in the morning I get a pot of coffee started. I was first introduced to coffee while touring a coffee farm during a study abroad trip in Costa Rica. There, the only way to drink it is black, and I carry that habit on today.

While my coffee is brewing, I make breakfast. This morning I had some extra time, so I made a veggie and cheese omelet. I used one egg, tomatoes, green onion, bell peppers, jalapenos, and a slice of cheddar cheese, then topped it with some hot sauce.

20170102_074519

On the way to work I stop by the gas station and pick up a 32-ounce unsweet tea and add a packet of Stevia from home. I don’t typically drink tea at work, but my to-do list is pretty long and some extra caffeine is necessary.

I brought blackberries and a cutie to work for a mid-morning snack. I’ve heard other RDs/nutritionists tell people that you shouldn’t eat too much fruit because of the sugar content, which always makes me roll my eyes. I crave sweets ALL DAY and my body likes me much more when I snack on fruit opposed to the candy my co-worker keeps on her desk.

20170102_094938

For lunch, I had an item from work called “Stuffed Acorn Squash”. It is ground pork seasoned and mixed with onion, celery, and apples before being stuffed into half of a roasted acorn squash. It is served with sauteed green beans. Each meal we sell contains 4-6 ounces of protein and at least 2 cups of veggies.

20170104_093324

I ran out of tea after lunch and drank about 2 cups of water before I left for the day.

I had my favorite meal planned for dinner –  pork cutlets, carrots, and wild rice with gravy. Not pictured is a cup of milk on the side. Not necessarily the healthiest meal, but I have been craving it for over a month. 🙂 I try to make my dinner 1/2 vegetables, 1/4 whole grains, and 1/4 protein. I failed at first but went back for more carrots after I finished my plate. (My mother would be so proud).

20170102_1751181

After dinner, I head to the gym. My goal is to get there 3-5 days a week and do at least 30 minutes of cardio and 20 minutes of muscle work (arms, legs, and/or abs) during each session. I have to admit, my wireless headphones died 20 minutes into my run so after 30 minutes on the treadmill I went home and did my favorite 10-minute arm workout. I make sure to finish my 16-ounce water bottle while at the gym. Today’s post-workout snack was a banana.

20170102_2059031

Again, my diet differs daily depending on my schedule and cravings, but I try to eat frequently and to sneak fruits and vegetables into my day whenever possible.

Leave a Reply

