Recipes

I Finally Tried Sweet Potato Toast

For months I have been seeing various blog posts and articles about the new food trend, sweet potato toast. I had been going back and forth between trying this because… well quite frankly, I’m too lazy to slice a sweet potato in the morning. One afternoon I decided it was finally time to try it out – and I LOVED IT!!

All you need is a sweet potato (the bigger the better). I used a knife to cut mine into slices about 1/8″ – 1/4″ thick, but next time I will definitely be using a mandoline to make this easier. I got about 15 slices from a large sweet potato, and stored them in a sealed container in the refrigerator for about a week.

You simply stick the sweet potato slices in your toaster on the highest setting and let the potato cook. When you take it out it should be soft to the touch, and the outside will have a white ring around it. If the potato isn’t soft, put it back in the toaster for a few more minutes.

Untitled design.png

The sweet potato was pretty good by itself, but once I added almond butter I became hooked. I saw in various blog posts that you can top the “toast” with other toppings like avocado, fried eggs, bananas, and more. I honestly couldn’t get myself to stop eating it with almond butter to try out different toppings. Maybe next time around 🙂

Leave a Reply

