Recipes

Blackberry Tart

Warning: If you are looking for a healthy recipe, please push the “X” at the right-hand corner of your screen. Eating this tart will result in a sugar buzz.

If you grow blackberries or know someone who does, you have likely asked yourself how you can use them all. This happened to me – my boyfriend’s mom gave me 10 cups of frozen blackberries (thanks, Jane!). I found myself looking at dozens of blackberry recipes before I decided to make a tart. I found nearly a dozen recipes for blackberry tarts and decided to combine them all and make my own recipe.

Before we get started, I have to remind you how terrible my cooking skills are – I once seasoned mashed potatoes with hot sauce after all. So even I, a terrible chef, made something that my roommates unanimously agreed was delicious. Did I mention that most of the ingredients used were foods that have been collecting dust in my apartment for months? So, my friends, if I can do it… anyone can!

 

Every great tart begins with a crust. In my mind, I was going to make things easier on myself and buy a pre-made crust from the grocery store. For many reasons, including (but not limited to) these:

  • One: I’m lazy.
  • Two: I don’t have a rolling pin.
  • Three: How the hell do you make pie crust?

However, plans change! After all, I already had my slippers and PJs on when I decided to embark on my journey to make this tart. So I did what anyone in my situation would do… I searched and searched the internet until I could find a simple homemade crust that could me modified to use the ingredients in my measly kitchen.

 

crust pre bake
crust – before baking

So here I go, putting melted butter, salt, almond milk, sugar, and flour into my pie plate and mashing it up with a fork. The whole time I’m thinking “there’s no way this mess can become a pie crust”. I didn’t even have to be patient – within minutes something that actually resembled a dough began to form. Before my concoction decided that it no longer wanted to cooperate, I formed it into the shape of my plate. (Ha! You’re mine now.) This has to bake in the oven for 25 minutes and should cool a little bit before the filling is put inside. I put it in the oven and began working on the deliciousness of the filling with about 10 minutes left.

 

Shit. Okay. Now I have this homemade crust in front of me. I guess I have to fill it with something edible. Aside from the large amounts of blackberries required, nothing in this filling recipe is abnormal. The recipe requires blackberries (not frozen), sugar, flour, lemon zest, and butter. (I put the blackberries in a colander and let cold water run over them for about 10 minutes, letting them thaw out.) In a big bowl, I mixed together blackberries, sugar (2 parts sugar to 1 part stevia – I ran out of sugar), flour, and lemon zest. Lemon zest isn’t something I would normally have, but a nearby gas station has small packets of True Lemon for iced tea that I like to steal. You could probably use lemon juice and get the same flavor.

 

filling
OMG I want to eat this for the rest of my life

 

After mixing the ingredients VERY well I put them inside my crust. (Try your best not to eat the entire filling before continuing on with the recipe.) I added leftover blackberries, a packet of Stevia, and chopped butter to the top of my tart and placed it on a baking sheet in the oven for 35 minutes.When the timer goes off, take it out of the oven and think to yourself, “how the f— did I just create something so wonderful?” and dig in!

Untitled design

Blackberry Tart Recipe

Crust

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons
  • 1 teaspoon
  • 1/2 cup melted
  • 2 tablespoons almond milk

Directions

  1. Mix dry ingredients in a 9-inch pie plate.
  2. Add the melted butter and almond milk, and mix together with a fork until the ingredients are combined evenly.
  3. Using your fork, flatten the dough onto the pie plate until evenly distributed.
  4. Put in the oven at 400 Fahrenheit for 25 minutes.

 

Filling

Ingredients

  • 5 cups blackberries (if yours are frozen, run them under cool water until thawed)
  • 1/2 cup sugar and 1/4 cup Stevia (or use 1 cup sugar)
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon lemon zest
  • 1 tablespoon butter, thinly chopped
  • 1 tablespoon Stevia

Directions

  1. In a bowl, mix 4 cups of blackberries, sugar/Stevia combination, flour, and lemon zest.
  2. Place mixture into the cooled pie crust, making sure the filling is evenly distributed.
  3. Top with the remaining blackberries, 1 tablespoon of Stevia, and chopped butter.
  4. Put the pie plate on a baking sheet (to catch any drippings) and bake for 35 minutes at 350 Fahrenheit.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

